Skip to main content

College News

New board chairperson begins, new board member sworn in at Northeast

New board chairperson begins, new board member sworn in at Northeast

NORFOLK, Neb. – A longtime board member took over as chairperson of the Northeast Community College Board of Governors on Thursday.

Jeff Scherer of Beemer was voted the new board chairperson last month and completed his first day in the new role on Thursday, replacing Julie Robinson of Norfolk.

“I’m honored and appreciative to have this opportunity to lead this board of governors,” Scherer said. “I’m excited about it. I love the college and the area.”

Scherer, who is the board’s at-large member, began serving in 2016. He had served previously as the board’s vice chairperson. The board routinely changes leadership, usually about every two to three years, but there is no formal timeline.

As the former chief financial officer for Smeal Fire Apparatus, Scherer said he had opportunity to work with Northeast to get training for employees.
“They do this kind of training throughout the 20-county area. It’s exciting what the college does, including the opportunity to help high school students with dual credit. They have opportunities to better themselves and their education,” he said.

“It’s all about the students,” Scherer said. “We want to make sure the students succeed. We want to also make sure the 20-county area we serve succeeds.”

Also during Thursday’s meeting, the board voted to appoint Diane Davies of Pilger (District 4). Donovan Ellis of Pierce announced a subcommittee’s recommendation of Davies, whose late husband, John Davies, served on the Northeast board from 2009-16.  Mr. Davies died in 2017 following a lengthy illness. Among his honors, in 2014 he earned the Nebraska Community College Association’s Governor’s Award, which is presented to one board member of a community college in Nebraska.
Diane Davies, a certified public accountant, is replacing Jeanne Reigle of Madison. Reigle announced her resignation to challenge state Sen. Rob Dover of Norfolk, seeking election to Nebraska’s 19th Legislative District.

Davies said she looks forward to promoting Northeast and stated she always viewed the college as a tremendous resource for the region.

The Northeast board consists of 11 members, with two members representing each of the five districts covering the 20-county service area. There is one at-large member, who represents the entire service area.

Starting meeting cutline
Jeff Scherer of Beemer (left) shares a smile Thursday morning with Northeast President Leah Barrett, shortly after he led the meeting as the new board chairperson. (Northeast Community College)