Skip to main content

College News

Beemer man chosen as new Northeast board chairperson

Beemer man chosen as new Northeast board chairperson

NORFOLK, Neb. – Shortly after the calendar rolls over into 2024, the Northeast Community College Board of Governors will have a new chairperson.

On Thursday, Dec. 14, board members elected a new slate of officers, including a board chairperson. They will be sworn into their new positions when the board meets again on Thursday, Jan. 11, 2024.

Jeff Scherer of Beemer was voted the new chairperson, replacing Julie Robinson of Norfolk (District 5). Scherer, who is the board’s at-large member, began serving in 2016. He had served previously as the board’s vice chairperson.
Donovan Ellis of Pierce (District 1), who had served as the secretary, was elected vice chairperson, succeeding Scherer. Ellis began serving in 2018.

Nicole Sedlacek of O’Neill (District 2), who was appointed to the board in 2019, was elected secretary.
Diane Reikofski was appointed the board’s recording secretary. She also is the president’s executive assistant. Scott Gray, vice president of administrative services and general counsel, was appointed treasurer.

Board members also appointed a subcommittee to consider candidates to replace Jeanne Reigle of Madison (District 4), who announced that she will resign in January. She also announced that she is seeking a seat in the Nebraska Legislature in District 19, which is currently represented by Sen. Rob Dover of Norfolk.

Members of the subcommittee are Scherer, Robinson, Del Ames of Neligh (District 1), and Ellis. Ellis was named the chairperson of the subcommittee. They will make a recommendation to the entire board on Jan. 11.

The Northeast board consists of 11 members, with two members representing each of the five districts covering the 20-county service area. There is one at-large member, who represents the entire service area.

Photo ID
Jeff Scherer of Beemer (Northeast Community College)