Skip to main content

College News

Northeast students identified for leadership possibilities

Northeast students identified for leadership possibilities

NORFOLK, Neb. – Twenty-six students were inducted recently into an honor society that recognizes academic success and leadership.

Since the installation of Northeast’s Tau Chi chapter in 1996, Northeast has inducted nearly 3,500 students into the international academic honor society for two-year colleges. For over 100 years, membership in Phi Theta Kappa has signified a singular honor and a willingness to embrace the Society’s shared commitment to academic excellence. 

The induction ceremony took place Sunday, Oct. 22, at the Lifelong Learning Center on the Northeast campus.

Amanda Nipp, vice president of student services at Northeast, said the students who earned induction have achieved a significant accomplishment.

“You all are the best of the best at Northeast Community College. Parents and guests, you have supported your students along the way, and we know it is an honor to be here and celebrate with them such an accomplishment here, today,” Nipp said. 

The organization’s mission is two-fold: recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. PTK is the largest honor society in higher education.

To be eligible for induction into PTK, students must have earned at least 12 credit hours and achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 or above out of a 4.0 system. 

Nipp said Phi Theta Kappa will provide multiple opportunities for the inductees to develop leadership skills, by attending conferences, becoming officers, and working with college administration or faculty on projects.

The following Northeast Community College students have qualified for PTK for the Fall 2022 semester:


Albion – Brittany Priester.

Craig – Shea Johnson, Kara Peterson.

Elgin – Mackinze Buschow.

Foster – Marcus Berns. 

Norfolk – Myah Barrett, Kaitlyn Bourn, Morgan Henderson, Maximus Heppner, Tresha Koch, Phoebe Matson, Alex McKeown, Kayla Petty, Anthony Rivas, Benjamin Schoenherr, Haylee Serres, Kagen Woodard.

Oakland – Maycie Johnson.

Pierce – Dakota Marks.

Saint Edward – Angelica Peirce.

Seward – Alexis Pallat.

Shelby – Emily Willis.

Uehling – Jennifer Egbers.

Winside – Cody North.

West Point – James Rolf.

Out of State
Iowa, West Des Moines – Cade Grevengoed.

Officers for the 2023-24 year are Sheridan Smejkal, Wagner, S.D., president; Eli McPhillips, Humphrey, vice president of leadership; Kaleb Wragge, Norfolk, vice president of scholarship; Micah Goedeken, Beemer; vice president of fellowship; Jeremiah Polak, Coleridge; vice president of service/secretary.

Northeast Phi Theta Kappa sponsors are Colleen Barnes, criminal justice/sociology instructor; Emma Burris-Janssen, English instructor; Patti Burris, adjunct instructor; and Nipp. 

Northeast Community College offers over 130 programs and concentrations of study preparing students for immediate employment or transfer to a four-year college or university.

This article may be viewed on the Northeast website at

Cutline inductees
Northeast Community College held an induction ceremony on Sunday, Oct. 22, for Phi Theta Kappa, which honors academic success and helps to develop leadership. (Northeast Community College)