Skip to main content

College News

Northeast business students earn top honors at national FBLA conference

Northeast business students earn top honors at national FBLA conference

ATLANTA – Students from Northeast Community College won top prizes at the 2023 Collegiate National Leadership Conference of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA), Inc., the nation’s largest career and technical student organization focused solely on business.

FBLA’s annual National Leadership Conference, held recently in Atlanta, Ga., brought together 14,000 middle school, high school, and college members for dozens of competitive events with cash prizes, learning workshops, and career development opportunities. 

“I could not be prouder of these students. Not only were they top performers, but they are amazing individuals,” said Cara Hoehne, business instructor and FBLA adviser who accompanied nine Northeast students to the conference. “They have demonstrated their strong business, communication, and problem-solving skills and knowledge from their Northeast classes by placing in the top of the nation against their peers. Any employer would be fortunate to have them.”

Nebraska FBLA members in all divisions took 71 Top 10 awards at this year’s national event with nine Northeast students placing in the Top 10 in their respective contests.

The Northeast team of Olivia Meaux, Norfolk, and Emma Nelson, Albion, placed 2nd in Community Service Project. Meaux earned 2nd place in the Small Business Management Plan category. Paul Einero, Cape Town, South Africa, and Kyra Louthan, Stanton, finished 5th in Business Ethics. The team of Dayci Luttrell, Hebron, Eli McPhillips, Humphrey, and Nelson placed 8th in Management Analysis and Decision Making. Nelson was joined by Rebeca Martinez, Norfolk, and Jordyn Steffen, Hartington, in placing 8th in Emerging Business Issues. Luttrel, Martinez and McPhillips placed 9th in Marketing Analysis and Decision Making.

Also competing at the conference for Northeast Mori Lopez, Neligh. Angie Shaffer, business instructor, is also an FBLA Collegiate chapter adviser. 

Northeast students earned 27 awards at the Nebraska FBLA Leadership Conference in Kearney earlier this year, including six first place and eight second place honors. Students earning first and second at the state conference automatically qualified to compete at the national competition.

The awards were part of a comprehensive national competitive events program sponsored by FBLA that recognizes and rewards excellence in a broad range of business and career-related areas. For many students, the competitive events are the capstone activity of their academic careers. In addition to competitions, students immersed themselves in interactive workshops, visited an information-packed exhibit hall, and heard from motivational keynotes on a broad range of business topics, including CLA (CliftonLarsonAllen) CEO Jen Leary and Chief Culture Officer Cathy Clarke in a featured presentation during the opening ceremony. With more than 8,500 employees and nearly 130 U.S. locations, CLA is the eighth-largest accounting and professional services firm in the country. 

Throughout the four-day conference, students could also receive individual feedback on their resumes, meet with potential employers, and connect with alumni and FBLA supporters at a networking reception.

Future Business Leaders of America focuses on developing leadership, communication and team skills in its members as well as giving members an opportunity to meet and network with other members at the local, state and national levels. FBLA places an emphasis on helping students transition to the business world. 


                                                                                                    PHOTO CUTLINE 

Students who are members of the Northeast Community College Future Business Leaders of America - Collegiate chapter, competed in the 2023 Collegiate National Leadership Conference of Future Business Leaders of America, Inc. recently in Atlanta. Pictured (from left) are Mori Lopez, Emma Nelson, Dayci Luttrell, Kyra Louthan, Olivia Meaux, Jordyn Steffen, Paul Einero, Rebeca Martinez, and Eli McPhillips.