Skip to main content

College News

Music department plans Holiday Concert Dec. 11

Music department plans Holiday Concert Dec. 11

NORFOLK, Neb. – The music department at Northeast Community College invites everyone to get in the holiday spirit with a concert to be held soon. The Northeast Community College Holiday Concert, which is free and open to the public, will be held on Sun., Dec. 11, at 2 p.m. in the Lifelong Learning Center on the Norfolk campus.

The college/community concert band and concert choir will take the stage.

Vocal selections, directed by Margaret Schultz, will include At Christmas; Carol of the Bells; Silent Night; White Christmas featuring soloists Parker Barnes, Grant Frerichs, C.J. Silvera, Kellan Sager, Drake Boyle, and Jeremiah Polak; Mele Kalikimaka; Still, Still, Still; and The Holiday Tango.

Dr. Linda Boullion is the accompanist.

With Kevin McLouth as director, the Northeast College/Community Concert Band will be performing Home for Christmas; Cantique de Noel; and Farandole.

The combined band and choir will also perform a “Christmas Sing-Along” arranged by James Ployhar.

Members of the Concert Choir include:

Alto – Kathryn Carey, Norfolk; Reilly Donscheski, Palmer; Hannah Santos, Albion; Hailey Seagren, Wausa; Rhiannon Van Fleet, Norfolk; Hanna Vokoun, Chelsea, Iowa.

Soprano – Lela Frerichs, Stanton; Emily Hespe, Springview; Destiny Holland, Norfolk; Shelby Klaumann, Gladstone.

Tenor – Drake Boyle, Norfolk; Connor Larsen, Tilden; Jeremiah Polak, Coleridge; Collin Sowards, Maryville, Mo.; James Torres, Madison.

Bass – Parker Barnes, Wahoo; Grant Frerichs, Stanton; Carter Hasemann, Wayne; Kellan Sager, Norfolk; Courtney Silvera, Brooklyn, NY; Ram Watters, Panama

Members of the Community/College Concert Band include: 

Flute – Sydney Erickson, Norfolk; Carrie Jensen, Norfolk; Dr. David Klee, Columbus; Amber Knight, Madison; Leah Levin, Ashland; Virginia Maas, Hoskins; Ellie Phelps, Newman Grove; Marie Scheer, Madison; Linda Steele, Norfolk.

Oboe – Brooke Painter, Norfolk

Bass Clarinet – Shyann Rohloff, Osmond.

Euphoniums – Sam Carlson, Norfolk; Ken Hamsa, Norfolk; Riley Montoya, Newman Grove; James Shoenberner, Gayville, So. Dak.

Tuba – Devon Chambliess, West Point; Isaac Guenther, Norfolk; Seth Rivest, Battle Creek.

Baritone Saxophone – Ryan Ginn, Norfolk; Allie Kotrous, Verdigre.

Trumpet – Chris Asbury, Norfolk; Kelly Asbury, Norfolk; Sarah Harrod, Norfolk; Lynn Matthies, Norfolk; Rachael Nuerenberg, Wakefield; Dominic Pavlick, Verdigre; Curtis Stevens, Creighton; Les Swanson, Norfolk; Hannah Vokoun, Chelsea, Iowa.

Bassoon – Melora Hirschman, Norfolk.

Alto Sax – Serina Babcock, Verdigre; Drake Boyle, Norfolk; Rhyan Greenough, Norfolk.

Horn – Dr. Bryon Hirschman, Norfolk; Pat Leavell, Norfolk; Cole Uzell, Norfolk.

Clarinet – Becca Asbury, Norfolk; Jennifer Fees, Madison; Karen Goetsch, Norfolk; Emma Green, Chambers; Hannah Santos, Albion; Sue Sieler, Norfolk; Jessica Stark, Plainview; Brianna Worley, Lincoln.

Percussion – Parker Barnes, Wahoo; Caleb Neben, Lexington; Dalton Rath, Randolph; Rhiannon Van Fleet, Norfolk.

Trombone – Noah Asbury, Norfolk; Tom Brodecky, Columbus; Jesus Campos, South Sioux City; Sam Carlson, Norfolk; Chris Efta, Pierce; Josh Fulton, Stanton; Dr. Randy Neuharth, Norfolk; Jason Schmidt, Battle Creek.

Tenor Sax – Tory Stevens, Creighton.