Skip to main content

College News

Northeast Community College students qualify for PTK honor society

Northeast Community College students qualify for PTK honor society

NORFOLK, Neb. – Approximately 40 students at Northeast Community College have qualified for membership in the Phi Theta Kappa, (PTK), Tau Chi Chapter this fall.

Since the installation of Northeast’s Tau Chi chapter in 1996, approximately 3,400 students have been inducted into the international academic honor society for two-year colleges. For over 100 years, membership in Phi Theta Kappa has signified a singular honor and a willingness to embrace the Society’s shared commitment to academic excellence.   

The organization’s mission is two-fold: recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. PTK is the largest honor society in higher education.

To be eligible for induction into PTK, students must have earned at least 12 credit hours and achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 or above out of a 4.0 system. 

The following Northeast Community College students have qualified for PTK for the Fall 2022 semester:


Ainsworth – Taylar Doggett.
Axtell – Analisia Mendoza.
Battle Creek – Kaleb Kummer, Madison Kudera.
Belgrade – Cheyenne Drudik.
Bloomfield – Emelie Johnson.
Carroll – Jessica Loberg.
Clarkson – Emily Cech.
Coleridge – Jeremiah Polak.
Grand Island – Tyler Earnest.
Genoa – Shyanne Koch.
Gretna – Lauren Rhodes.
Norfolk – Christian Carew, Sandra Cubillos, Lizbeth Esparza, Courtney Grissom, Isaac Guenther, Madison Hampton, Katherine Herrera, Nathaly Loza, Christina Miller, Hailey Miller, Anderson Roberts, Matthew Ronk, Crystal Sanchez, Erin Schwanebeck, Jackson Schwanebeck, Ashley Vavra, Abbigail Lane.
Pierce – Raina Lade, Brynnlee Marks.
Seward – Tiffany Dufek. 
Spencer – Rylie Haun. 
Stanton – Savannah Siebrandt.
Verdigre – Jodi Bewer, Ethan Uhlir.

Out of State

Iowa, Sioux City – Yuliana Pum-Briones.
So. Dak., Yankton – Victor Duarte.


Kosovo, Pristina – Nerxhivane Qiriqi.

Douglas Stahlecker, McLean, serves as president of the PTK Tau Chi chapter at Northeast; Delaney Shears, Alda, is vice president of leadership; Joyce Pojar, Madison, is vice president of scholarship; Tory Halsey, Chambers, serves as vice president of fellowship; and Bethany Rupprecht, Clarkson, is secretary.

During a ceremony to induct the new members, Amanda Nipp, vice president of student services at Northeast, said the event marked the beginning of the students’ journey as members of PTK.

“We have the opportunity to see the next group of leaders as you work to fulfill the purpose of Phi Theta Kappa, which provides recognition for academic excellence and opportunities for college students to grow as scholars and as leaders,” Nipp said. “Making it to this day is a really large accomplishment, so you do have a lot to celebrate.”

Northeast Phi Theta Kappa sponsors are Colleen Barnes, criminal justice/sociology instructor, Andrea Suhr, physical therapist assistant instructor, and Nipp. 

Northeast Community College offers over 130 programs and concentrations of study preparing students for immediate employment or transfer to a four-¬year college or university.