Skip to main content

College News

Northeast students qualify for PTK honor society

Northeast students qualify for PTK honor society

NORFOLK, Neb. – Approximately 50 students at Northeast Community College have qualified for membership in the Phi Theta Kappa, (PTK), Tau Chi Chapter.

Since the installation of Northeast’s Tau Chi chapter in 1996, approximately 3,300 students have been inducted into the international academic honor society for two-year colleges. For over 100 years, membership in Phi Theta Kappa has signified a singular honor and a willingness to embrace the Society’s shared commitment to academic excellence.  

The organization’s mission is two-fold: recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and; provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. PTK is the largest honor society in higher education.

To be eligible for induction into PTK, students must have earned at least 12 credit hours and achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 or above out of a 4.0 system.

The following Northeast Community College students have qualified for PTK for the Fall 2021 semester:


Bancroft – Brooklyn Nolting.
Battle Creek – Alyssia Smith. 
Columbus – Mireya Chavez, Claire Thelen.            
Dakota City – Cheyenne Vogel.
Falls City – Chelsey Anderson.
Gretna – Alexis Holt.
Hastings – Gicelle Garcia-Barraza.
Lincoln – Jason Costa.
Loup City – Michael Jepsen.
Madison – Heblou Htoo.       
Neligh – Megan Funk.
Norfolk – Daniel Alvarado, Emily Duncan, Laura Duque, Daniel Gubbels, Madelyn Lingenfelter, Daniel Luken, Kaliyah            Meaux, Aislinn Melo, Yvette Mendoza, Richard Nyirenda, Kaylee Osborne , Gannon Pokorney, Miriam Sanchez-Ramirez, Erica Stephenson, Cael Wiederin.    
O’Neill – Kenna Couch, Jadyn Eby.
Pender – Jessica Royer.                                          
Pierce – Sharon Longe.
Plainview – Rebekah Beltz.
South Sioux City – Daniela Cuevas, Yazmin Morelos-Murguia, Paola Ortiz.
Stanton – Alexia Arguello, Timothy Larson.
Wakefield – Geena Rahn.
Wausa – Catherine Bellar.
Wayne – Stephanie Casarrubias Gonzalez, Daryl Lambert, Elizabeth Schlamann.
West Point – Caden Ernesti.
Winnebago – Michelice Kie.

Out of State

Iowa, Sioux City – Sandra Little.
NM, Rio Rancho – Crystal Hostler.
SD, Yankton – Holly Wells.

Makenzie Enderlin, Columbus, serves as president of the PTK Tau Chi chapter at Northeast; Delaney Shears, Alda, is vice president of leadership; Amanda Czarnick, Columbus, is vice president of scholarship; Jayce Vrbka, Shelby, serves as vice president of service; and Amanda Rogers, Coleridge, is secretary.

Leah Barrett, president of Northeast, and Amanda Avidano, community college relationship manager for Bellevue University, also spoke during the event. Bellevue University served as sponsor for the ceremony. Northeast Phi Theta Kappa sponsors are Colleen Barnes, criminal justice/sociology instructor, and Andrea Suhr, physical therapist assistant instructor.

Northeast Community College offers over 130 programs and concentrations of study preparing students for immediate employment or transfer to a four-­year college or university.




PHOTO ID: Pictured are students who were among those inducted into Northeast Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa Tau Chi Chapter during a ceremony at the College recently.