Skip to main content

College News

Northeast holds PTK induction ceremony

Northeast holds PTK induction ceremony

NORFOLK, NE - Northeast Community College welcomed the newest members into its international honor society in a special ceremony held here recently.

One-hundred students were installed into Northeast’s Phi Theta Kappa, (PTK), Tau Chi chapter during the spring 2019 induction ceremony held in the Lifelong Learning Center.            

Since the installation of Northeast’s Tau Chi chapter in 1996, approximately 3,200 students have been inducted into the international academic honor society for two-year colleges. For more than 80 years, membership in Phi Theta Kappa has signified a singular honor and a willingness to embrace the Society’s shared commitment to academic excellence.  

To be eligible for PTK, students must have earned at least 12 credit hours and achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 or above out of a 4.0 system.

Dr. Michael Chipps, president of Northeast Community College, spoke at the ceremony. He told students that their membership in PTK is “more than just a line on your resume.”

“Your Phi Theta Kappa membership will take you far if you utilize it well. You represent Phi Theta Kappa with the highest integrity and the highest potential you have to offer.”

David Grissom also spoke at the induction ceremony. Grissom, who currently works in the maintenance department at Northeast, is a retired US Navy submariner and is an alumnus of the Alpha Mu Tau chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Collin College in McKinney, TX.

“Today we celebrate your academic excellence,” he said. “I want you to remember this day as an accomplishment but also as a challenge. I want you to remember this day that you’ve achieved scholarly excellence. You must now put this excellence into action. PTK was established in 1918 at Stephens College in Missouri with eight other member colleges. It is now your turn to continue the legacy of the society.”

Amanda Avidano, community college relationship manager for Bellevue University, also spoke at the event. Bellevue University served as sponsor for the ceremony.

The following Northeast Community College students have qualified for PTK during the Spring 2019 semester:


Ainsworth - Jacce Beck; Alliance - Makayla Davidson; Bancroft - Wissanee Logemann; Battle Creek - Jonah Heng, Tylynn Johnson, Noah Kalvelage; Bee - Morgan Kavulak; Brainard - Abby Pierce; Bristow - Jennifer Holmberg; Brule - Audrey Dickmander; Burwell - Blake Mann; Chadron - Mallory Rhembrandt; Clarkson - Ashlee Novotny; Columbus - Andrew Alstadt, Elley Beaver, Tyler Bock, Kaitlyn Enderlin, Emily Goc, Calvin Musil, Mikayla Nienaber, Amber Schaad; Dodge - Michael Baumert, Richard Kreikemeier; Ellsworth - Jacalyn Schwanebeck; Fordyce - Matthew Schaefer; Grand Island - Ali Nowicki; Hartington - Brooklyn Lammers; Hoskins - Rylee Karella; Howells - Katelyn Steffensmeier; Hubbard - Hope Gubbels; Humphrey - Jade Christensen, Riley Huettner, Quinn Olmer; Lincoln - Kendra Cooper, Malcolm Opoku, Megan Pfohl; Lindsay - Dylan Anderson; Long Pine - Sabrina Hempel; Madison - Brittany Foster, Betcy Saldana, Laura Sanchez, Dustin Ternus; McCook - Samuel Knoll, Tanner Unger; Milligan - Kelsey Bigelow; Morse Bluff - Justin Mensik; Newman Grove - Kala Rast; Newport - Jeffery Reynolds; Norfolk - Dalia Alvarez, Taelyr Beery, Jarret Cerny, Maritza Contreras, Brittney Dederman, Sam Dederman, Macphinley Dzanja, Joseph Guenther, Laura Kalous, Evelyn Kelly, Tylee Kemp, Kaylea Kuhlman, Jessica Metcalf, Rebecca Metcalf, Aaron Miller, Travis Munyer, Jimmy Ndipo, Britnie Rath, Zachary Schindler, Jacob Steiner, Lauren Stevens, Sedrick Svehla, Carlos Villarreal, Carrie Wilbeck; Omaha - Karston Lowry; O’Neill - Kaylee Harvey, Blake Krysl; Osmond - Alexander Kumm, Caitlin Kumm, Erin Schultz, Shelby Stelling; Pierce - Payton Gnat; Plainview - Heather Myers, Tait Ziems; Randolph - Colton Kastning; Saint Libory - Katelyn Buhrman; Scribner - Ben Moxness; South Sioux City - Natalie Flores Lopez; Spalding - Caitlin Langer; Springfield - Matthew Kingston; Stuart - Chaelly Fahrenholz, Kennison Kunz, Cassie Miksch; Tilden - Shelby Cakebread; Waterbury - Mariah Kramer; Wayne - Tabitha Belt; Wisner - Charlotte Wolff; Wolbach - Megan Beck.


Out of State

IA, Correctionville - Tori Emmons

IA, Sioux City - Cammy Ly, Steven Rubio Perez

SD, Hot Springs - Sara Waldner

Northeast Phi Theta Kappa sponsors are Colleen Barnes, criminal justice/sociology instructor, Andrea Suhr, physical therapist assistant instructor and Cara Watchorn, student support specialist.

Northeast Community College offers over 80 concentrations/options of study preparing students for immediate employment or transfer to a four-­year college or university.





Tait Ziems, Plainview, adds his signature to the chapter record book as part of an induction ceremony into the College’s Phi Theta Kappa international honor society, Tau Chi chapter recently. Ziems was one of one-hundred Northeast students who were recognized during the event.