Skip to main content

College News

Anderson is new chair of Northeast board

Anderson is new chair of Northeast board

NORFOLK, NE – Steve Anderson is the new chairperson of the Northeast Community College Board of Governors. He began serving his term at Thursday’s meeting of the board in Norfolk. Anderson, of Concord, District III member, succeeds Dirk Petersen, of Norfolk, a District V representative.

District III includes Dixon and Dakota counties in their entirety and a portion of Cedar County.

Elected to other officer positions for 2019 were District III member Arlan Kuehn, of South Sioux City, vice chair, and District V member Julie Robinson, of Norfolk, secretary.

Anderson, was initially appointed to his position on the Northeast Board of Governors in April 1997 and was formally elected to the board in 1998. He was reelected to the seat in 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014.

In 2017, Anderson was presented with the Nebraska Community College Association’ Governor’s Award. The award is presented annually to one board member from five of the state’s community college areas.

This past October, Anderson was recognized by the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) with its 2018 Western Region Trustee Leadership Award. ACCT’s Western Region covers 10 states and five Canadian provinces and territories. Geographically, it is the largest of the association’s five regions across North America.

Also at Thursday’s meeting, board members elected or reelected in November - Del Ames, of Neligh, (District I); Carol Sibbel, of O’Neill (District II); Anderson, and Dr. Terry Nelson, of West Point, (District IV), were sworn in by Petersen. Julie Robinson, of Norfolk, (District V) who was reelected, was unable to attend the meeting and will be sworn in next month.

In addition, Anderson and District IV member Gene Willers, of Pilger, were selected as representatives to the Nebraska Community College Association Board of Directors.

Diane Reikofski was reappointed board recording secretary and the vice president of administrative services at Northeast was reappointed as board treasurer.



                                                              PHOTO CUTLINE

Steve Anderson, of Concord, the new chairperson of the Northeast Community College Board of Governors, (second from left) is pictured with Dirk Petersen, of Norfolk, (second from right) immediate past chair of the board at a meeting on Thursday in Norfolk. Also pictured are Arlan Kuehn, of South Sioux City, board vice chair (next to Anderson) and Dr. Michael Chipps, college president.