Skip to main content

College News

Northeast students qualify for PTK honor society

Northeast students qualify for PTK honor society

NORFOLK, Neb. – Over thirty students at Northeast Community College have qualified for membership in the Phi Theta Kappa, (PTK), Tau Chi Chapter.

Since the installation of Northeast’s Tau Chi chapter in 1996, approximately 3,200 students have been inducted into the international academic honor society for two-year colleges. For over 100 years, membership in Phi Theta Kappa has signified a singular honor and a willingness to embrace the Society’s shared commitment to academic excellence.  

The organization’s mission is two-fold: recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and; provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. PTK is the largest honor society in higher education.

To be eligible for induction into PTK, students must have earned at least 12 credit hours and achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 or above out of a 4.0 system.

The following Northeast Community College students have qualified for PTK for the Fall 2020 semester:


Albion - Kate Zakaras.
Allen - Marissa Brentlinger.
Atkinson - Hannah Brotsky, Ashley Larby.
Bassett - Brendan Bussinger.
Bloomfield - Trenton Holz.
Blue Hill - Jamie Bonifas.
Bristow - Andrea Reeder.
Columbus - Katrina Enderson, Darcy Patrick.
Creighton – Abigail Rafert.
Howells - Jessi Brester.
Laurel - Sydney Chapman.
Lyons - Braxton Bargmann.
Meadow Grove - Britney Kreikemeier.

Norfolk - Samantha Hartman, Cheyenne McBride, Ashley Pena, Leah Petty, Jamison Svehla, Briyana Wright.
O’Neill - Taylor Peter, Kaitlyn     Pongratz.
Osmond - Alexa Meyer.
Pierce - Rose Graham, Annika Johanson.
Plattsmouth - Sierra Dragoo.
Riverdale - Joshua Salter.
Royal - Clay Curtis.
Seward - Jory Nelson.
West Point - Megan Cushing, Morghann James.
Wynot - Emma Greninger.

Candice Parra, Norfolk, serves as president of the PTK Tau Chi chapter at Northeast, Madeline O’Brien, Norfolk, is vice president of leadership, Morgan Eickmeier, Bellwood, is vice president of scholarship, Hannah Stahl, Potter, serves as vice president of service, and Kaitlyn Grissom, Norfolk, is secretary.

Northeast Phi Theta Kappa sponsors are Colleen Barnes, criminal justice/sociology instructor, and Andrea Suhr, physical therapist assistant instructor. Bellevue University serves as Tau Chi chapter sponsor.

Northeast Community College offers over 130 programs and concentrations of study preparing students for immediate employment or transfer to a four-­year college or university.