Skip to main content

College News

New officers elected to student leadership association

New officers elected to student leadership association

NORFOLK, NE - Officers have been elected to lead the Student Leadership Association (SLA) at Northeast Community College during the 2019-20 academic year.

Drew Smith, North Platte, will serve as president, while Trelynn Morrow, Plainview, who previously served as president, is the new vice president. Theo Tauber, Spencer, will serve as secretary.

Members of the Northeast Community College Student Leadership Association serve on all major councils and committees on campus, boost student morale, and voice student concerns and opinions to the college administration.

The SLA serves a vital role on the Northeast campus, according to Carissa Kollath, director of student activities.

“Members of the SLA cultivate communication among students, faculty, staff, and administration and develop and promote opportunities for the benefit of the student body. They also promote active citizenship and volunteerism by conducting special projects that allow members to learn through providing service activities that meet campus and community needs. But most importantly, the SLA maintains a clear representation of student body views.”

Two incoming sophomores have also been named representatives of the Student Leadership Association at Northeast. They include Carlos Villarreal II, Norfolk, and Joseph Walsh, Ravenna. Incoming freshmen members will be named in the fall.

Other student leadership opportunities at Northeast include resident assistants (RAs) - a team of student housing residents selected to assist with the daily operation of the on-campus resident housing facilities; student assistants - residents who assist the RAs; Student Activities Council –  a volunteer group of students who help to coordinate and implement activities that are free for the student body; and student ambassadors - a team of 10-12 selected students who help promote Northeast by hosting campus tours, hosting and participating in appreciation/recognition activities, speaking to civic organizations in their hometown and Norfolk, and sending thank you and other cards to prospective students.



PHOTO IDs: Drew Smith, Trelynn Morrow and Theo Tauber. (Courtesy Northeast Community College)