Skip to main content

College News

Winter concert to be held at Northeast

Winter concert to be held at Northeast

NORFOLK, NE - The music department at Northeast Community College will host its annual winter concert later this month. The Northeast Community College Winter Concert will be held on Sunday, February 10, at 2 p.m. in the Lifelong Learning Center on the Norfolk campus. The event is free and open to the public.

The College/Community Concert Band; Concert Choir; Ebony & Crimson, Northeast’s men’s and women’s audition ensemble; and Singer’s Express, the show choir, will take the stage.

Selections to be performed by the Community/College Concert Band include “Yellow Mountain” by Jacob de Haan and “Second Suite in F for Military Band” by Gustav Holst.

Ebony & Crimson will sing “Colors of Winter” by Amy Bernon, “The Snow, Opus 26 No. 1” by Edward Elgar and “Hallelujah,” arranged by Roger Emerson. The concert choir will perform “Hosanna Deo!” by Greg Gilpin, “Winter Dreams” by Pinkzebra and “Aurora Borealis” by Amy Bernon. “Let It Go” from the movie Frozen, arranged by Mac Huff, will be performed by Singer’s Express.

The College/Community Concert Band is led by Kevin McLouth, instrumental music instructor/director of instrumental activities at Northeast.

Stewart Cramer, music instructor and director of vocal activities, is the director of Concert Choir, Ebony & Crimson and Singer’s Express. Margaret Schultz is the accompanist.

Members of the Community/College Concert Band include:

Flute: Emily Case, Gibbon; Carrie Jensen, Norfolk; Annika Johansen, Pierce; Virginia Maas, Hoskins; Linda Steele, Norfolk; Britnie Rath, Battle Creek; Marie Scheer, Madison; and Cait von Lau, Creighton.

Baritone Saxophone: Ryan Ginn, Norfolk; and Holden Vavricek, Shelby.

Euphonium: Ken Hamsa, Norfolk; Celia Howser, Norfolk; and Riley Montoya, Newman Grove.

Trombone: Josh Fulton, Stanton; Zach Morris, Winside; Dr. Randy Neuharth, Norfolk; and Jerimy Placke, Palmer.

Oboe: Caylan Hirschman, Norfolk; Brooke Painter, Norfolk; and Ashley Pedersen, Pierce.

Trumpet: Marty Beyer, Neligh; Christalin Ginn, Norfolk; Nick Gubbels, Randolph; Sarah Harrod, Battle Creek; Lynn Matthies, Norfolk; Curtis Stevens, Creighton; and Les Swanson, Norfolk.

Bassoon: Melora Hirschman, Norfolk; and Zaidya Hirschman, Columbus.

Tenor Saxophone: Reid Arens, Hartington; Ryan Colsden, Stanton; Joshua Hughes, Norfolk; and Hayley Schmidt, Pender.

Percussion: Noah Kalvelage, Battle Creek; Connor Lemke-Elznic, Winside; Malcolm Opoku, Lincoln; Dalton Rath, Randolph; and Jeremy von Lau, Creighton.

Clarinet: Allison Backer, Norfolk; Gordon Braun, Norfolk; Karen Goetsch, Norfolk; Rosemary Gubbels, Plainview; Andres Hughes, Norfolk; Kala Rast, Newman Grove; Sue Sieler, Norfolk; and Amanda Smith, Norfolk.

Horn: Alexa Dougherty, O’Neill; Dr. Bryon Hirschman, Norfolk; Pat Leavell, Norfolk; and Zia Moore, Oakdale.

Bass Clarinet: Cecilia Ponce, Hartington.

Tuba: Seth Rivest, Battle Creek, and Corbin Dean, O’Neill.

Alto Saxophone: Judene Abels, Norfolk; Isaiah Baker, Norfolk; Rhyan Kotrous, Verdigre; and Brittany McConnell, Neligh.

Members of Singer’s Express include Rachel Biehl, Lexington; Brandon Fentress, Oakland; Caleb Franzen, Columbus; Andres Hughes, Norfolk; Morgan Kavulak, Bee; Shelby Laird, Pender; Megan McWhorter, Neligh; Emma Meisenheimer, Hartington; Sydnie Niemann, Wayne; Katherine Perrigan, Norfolk; Cecilia Ponce, Hartington; Kala Rast, Newman Grove; Dalton Rath, Randolph; and Sheldon Wattier, Norfolk.

Members of Ebony & Crimson include all members of Singer’s Express in addition to Grace Baker, Silver Lake, and Hope Boyle, Norfolk.

Concert Choir members include all Singer’s Express and Ebony & Crimson members as well as Drake Boyle, Norfolk; KC Carey, Norfolk; Amy Hammond, Randolph; and Alexis Lautzenhiser, Norfolk.