Skip to main content

College News

Holiday concert planned at Northeast

Holiday concert planned at Northeast

NORFOLK, NE - The music department at Northeast Community College invites everyone to get in the holiday spirit with a concert to be held in December.

The Northeast Community College Holiday Concert, which is free and open to the public, will be held on Sunday, December 9, at 2 p.m. in the Lifelong Learning Center on the Norfolk campus.

The college/community concert band and concert choir will take the stage as well as a percussion ensemble.

Vocal selections, directed by Stewart Cramer, will include “Here We Come A-Caroling” by Josh Sparkman, “You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch” arranged by Jeff Funk, “Madrigal of the Bells” by Linda Spevacek and “On a Still and Starry Night” by Sally DeFord. Soloists will include Stephanie Polluck, soprano, and Miguel Gonzalez, violin.

Margaret Schultz is the accompanist.

With Kevin McLouth as director, the Northeast College/Community Concert Band will be performing “Sleigh Ride” by Leroy Anderson, “God Rest You, Merry Gentlemen” arranged by Ed Huckeby and Handel’s “Hallelujah Chorus” from “Messiah,” arranged by CW Johnson. The percussion ensemble will perform “Festivus” by Chris Crockarell.

The combined band and choir will also perform “A Holiday Sing-Along” arranged by John Moss.

Members of the Concert Choir include:

Soprano: Rachel Biehl, Lexington; Erika Burritt, Osceola; Amy Hammond, Randolph; Morgan Kavulak, Bee; Shelby Laird, Pender; Sydnie Niemann, Wayne; and Cecilia Ponce, Hartington.

Alto: Gracie Baker, Silver Creek; K.C. Carey, Norfolk; Alexis Loutzenhiser, Norfolk; Megan McWhorter, Neligh; Emma Meisenheimer, Hartington; Katherine Perrigan, Norfolk; Kala Rast, Newman Grove; Cassandra Rinkel, Pierce; and Tory Tammen, Crofton.

Tenor: Macphinley Dzanja, Blantyre, Malawi; Andrés Hughes, Norfolk; and Check Traore, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

Bass: Joe Davis, Norman, OK; Brandon Fentress, Oakland; Caleb Franzen, Columbus; Dalton Rath, Randolph; and Sheldon Wattier, Norfolk.

Members of the Community/College Concert Band include:

Flute: Emily Case, Gibbon; Carrie Jensen, Norfolk; Annika Johansen, Pierce; Virginia Maas, Hoskins; Linda Steele, Norfolk; Britnie Rath, Battle Creek; Marie Scheer, Madison; and Cait von Lau, Creighton.

Baritone Saxophone: Ryan Ginn, Norfolk; and Holden Vavricek, Shelby.

Euphonium: Ken Hamsa, Norfolk; Celia Howser, Norfolk; Mario Lugo, West Point; and Riley Montoya, Newman Grove.

Trombone: Josh Fulton, Stanton; Jacob Mann, Winside; Jose Meza, Madison; Zach Morris, Winside; Dr. Randy Neuharth, Norfolk; and Jerimy Placke, Palmer.

Percussion: Noah Kalvelage, Battle Creek; Connor Lemke-Elznic, Winside; Malcolm Opoku, Lincoln; Dalton Rath, Randolph; and Jeremy von Lau, Creighton.

Trumpet: Marty Beyer, Neligh; Christalin Ginn, Norfolk; Sarah Harrod, Battle Creek; Lynn Matthies, Norfolk; Curtis Stevens, Creighton; and Les Swanson, Norfolk.

Bassoon: Elizabeth Glynn, Bartlett; Melora Hirschman, Norfolk; and Zaidya Hirschman, Columbus.

Tenor Saxophone: Reid Arens, Hartington; Ryan Colsden, Stanton; Joshua Hughes, Norfolk; Kris Jundt, Norfolk; and Hayley Schmidt, Pender.

Alto Saxophone: Judene Abels, Norfolk; Isaiah Baker, Norfolk; Rhyan Kotrous, Verdigre; and Brittanny McConnell, Neligh.

Clarinet: Allison Backer, Norfolk; Gordon Braun, Norfolk; Karen Goetsch, Norfolk; Rosemary Gubbels, Plainview; Andrés Hughes, Norfolk; Kala Rast, Newman Grove; Wanda Retzlaff, Plainview; Sue Sieler, Norfolk; and Amanda Smith, Norfolk.

Horn: Alexa Dougherty, O’Neill; Dr. Bryon Hirschman, Norfolk; Pat Leavell, Norfolk; and Zia Moore, Oakdale.

Bass Clarinet: Cecelia Ponce, Hartington.

Oboe: Brooke Painter, Norfolk; and Ashley Pedersen, Pierce.

Tuba: Seth Rivest, Battle Creek; and Corbin Dean, O’Neill.