Skip to main content

College News

Northeast students qualify for PTK honor society

Northeast students qualify for PTK honor society

NORFOLK, NE – Approximately seventy-five students at Northeast Community College have qualified for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, (PTK), Tau Chi Chapter.

Since the installation of Northeast’s Tau Chi chapter in 1996, approximately 3,200 students have been inducted into the international academic honor society for two-year colleges. For nearly 90 years, membership in Phi Theta Kappa has signified a singular honor and a willingness to embrace the Society’s shared commitment to academic excellence.  

To be eligible for PTK, students must have earned at least 12 credit hours and achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 or above out of a 4.0 system.

The organization’s mission is two-fold: recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and; provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. PTK is the largest honor society in higher education.

Amanda Avidano, community college outreach manager for Bellevue University, works with Northeast students who are finishing their associate degrees and planning to transfer to earn bachelor degrees. In her keynote address to the inductees, the PTK alum said since 2010, Bellevue has awarded several Northeast students with PTK grants when they transferred their credits to the institution.

“PTK is not just a note on your transcript. It is you, your success, your leadership, and your legacy as a lifetime member,” she said.

The following Northeast students have qualified for PTK for the Fall 2018 semester:


Ainsworth – Jacob Fernau
Bruno – Austin Polivka
Carroll – Stephanie Smith;
Chambers – Landon Crabtree
Clarks – Tessa Byrd
Dakota City - Melissa Albers, Cortni Henry
Ewing – Skylar Reynolds
Gresham – Mariah Jensen
Hartington – Riley Arens, Alyxia Lammers, Justin Lange
Inman – Amanda Schaaf
Louisville – Rilee Holl
Madison – Maria Juan Lucas
Meadow Grove – Alishia Nelson
Neligh – Kayla Wright
Newman Grove – Rebecca Stone
Newport – Jesse Cline, Brook Doke
North Bend – Katie Flower
Norfolk – Kylie Brungardt, Serena Clarkson, Tabitha Coleman, Amberly Erickson, Joel Goodwater, Charlotte Kadangwe, Lakyn McCarter, Daniel Medel, Brittni Merchant, Layne O’Hare, Joslynn Otero-Anderson, Katherine Perrigan, Laura Perrigan, Angelica Rocha, Brian Saravia Mejia, Emory Taylor, Amanda Thomas, Jordynn Willer
O’Neill – Alexa Dougherty; Morgan Fowler, Jared Hammerlun, Haley Schmeichel, Jacob Tunender
Osmond – Curtis Kralicek
Papillion – Ellie Gess
Pender – Hayley Schmidt
Petersburg – Shanae Baker
Plainview – Jadin Doerr
Platte Center – Jordan Janssen
Pierce – Taelor Washburn
South Sioux City – Lizbeth Bustos-Salcido, Janinne Garcia-Medina, Mariah Miller, Viviana Villarreal, Sara Wictor
Stanton – Judith Funk, Brittany Lorimor
Stromsburg - Emily Noyd
Tilden – Cherokee Berrier
Ulysses – Cambria Klement
Valentine – Caven Belville
Wakefield – Devan Henschke
Wayne – Bentley Hingst; Garret Reynolds
West Point – Marco Flores, Natalie Perez, Mariana Urquidez
Weston – Brandon Breunig
Wynot – Julia Eskens

Out of State

CO, Northglenn – Maria Del Rosario Garcia
IA, Sioux City – Anna Graves, Jill Medrano, Cody Young
SD, Sioux Falls – Lauren Hunstad

Rebecka Mackling, Emerson, serves as president of the PTK Tau Chi chapter, Logan Connot, O’Neill, is vice president of scholarship, Makenzie Gordan, Norfolk, serves as vice president of leadership, and Seth Johnson, Pierce, is secretary.

Northeast Phi Theta Kappa sponsors are Colleen Barnes, criminal justice/sociology instructor, and Andrea Suhr, physical therapist assistant instructor in Norfolk, and Cara Watchorn, student support specialist in South Sioux City.

Northeast Community College offers over 130 programs and concentrations of study preparing students for immediate employment or transfer to a four-­year college or university.



PHOTO ID: Northeast Community College Fall 2018 Phi Theta Kappa inductees and PTK Tau Chi chapter officers.