Skip to main content

College News

Northeast to host fall concert

Northeast to host fall concert

NORFOLK, NE - Northeast Community College instrumental music and vocal groups will open their 2018-19 season with a fall concert later this month.

The concert will be held Sunday, October 21, at 2 p.m. in the Lifelong Learning Center on the Norfolk campus. It will feature selections by the College Choir and the Community/College Concert Band. A men’s ensemble and percussion ensemble will also make an appearance.

Vocal selections, directed by Stewart Cramer, will include “And the Night Shall Be Filled with Music” by Greg Gilpin, “Gather at the River” by Brian Tate and “Homeward Bound” arranged by Jay Althouse, all performed by the Concert Choir. The men’s ensemble will perform “The Pasture” by Z. Randall Stroope and “I Loved You” by Jay Rouse.

Margaret Schultz is the accompanist.

With Kevin McLouth as director, the Northeast College/Community Concert Band will be performing “Toccata for Band” by Frank Erickson, “Benediction” by John Stevens, a selection from “American River Songs” by Pierre La Plante and “The Diplomat” by John Philip Sousa. The percussion ensemble will perform “Witch Doctor” by Chris Brooks.

The combined band and choir will also perform “God Bless America” by Irving Berlin and arranged by Christopher and Moss.

Members of the Concert Choir include:

Soprano: Rachel Biehl, Lexington; Erika Burritt, Osceola; Amy Hammond, Randolph; Morgan Kavulak, Bee; Shelby Laird, Pender; Brittany Merry, Osceola; Sydnie Niemann, Wayne; and Cecilia Ponce, Hartington.

Alto: Gracie Baker, Silver Creek; K.C. Carey, Norfolk; Alexis Loutzenhiser, Norfolk; Megan McWhorter, Neligh; Emma Meisenheimer, Hartington; Katherine Perrigan, Norfolk; Kala Rast, Newman Grove; Cassandra Rinkel, Pierce; and Tory Tammen, Crofton.

Tenor: Zachary Biekert, Hooper; Macphinley Dzanja, Blantyre, Malawi; Reid Arens, Hartington; Justin Fentress, Oakland; Andrés Hughes, Norfolk; and Check Traore, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

Bass: Joe Davis, Norman, OK; Brandon Fentress, Oakland; Caleb Franzen, Columbus; Dalton Rath, Randolph; and Sheldon Wattier, Norfolk.

Members of the Community/College Concert Band include:

Flute: Emily Case, Gibbon; Carrie Jensen, Norfolk; Annika Johansen, Pierce; Virginia Maas, Hoskins; Linda Steele, Norfolk; Britnie Rath, Battle Creek; Marie Scheer, Madison; and Cait von Lau, Creighton.

Baritone Saxophone: Ryan Ginn, Norfolk; and Holden Vavricek, Shelby.

Euphonium: Ken Hamsa, Norfolk; Mario Lugo, West Point; and Riley Montoya, Newman Grove.

Trombone: Josh Fulton, Stanton; Jacob Mann, Winside; Zach Morris, Winside; Dr. Randy Neuharth, Norfolk; and Jerimy Placke, Palmer.

Percussion: Noah Kalvelage, Battle Creek; Connor Lemke-Elznic, Winside; Malcolm Opoku, Lincoln; Dalton Rath, Randolph; and Jeremy von Lau, Creighton.

Trumpet: Marty Beyer, Neligh; Christalin Ginn, Norfolk; Sarah Harrod, Battle Creek; Lynn Matthies, Norfolk; Curtis Stevens, Creighton; and Les Swanson, Norfolk.

Bassoon: Melora Hirschman, Norfolk; and Zaidya Hirschman, Columbus.

Tenor Saxophone: Reid Arens, Hartington; Ryan Colsden, Stanton; Joshua Hughes, Norfolk; Kris Jundt, Norfolk; and Hayley Schmidt, Pender.

Alto Saxophone: Judene Abels, Norfolk; Isaiah Baker, Norfolk; Rhyan Kotrous, Verdigre; and Brittanny McConnell, Neligh.

Clarinet: Allison Backer, Norfolk; Gordon Braun, Norfolk; Karen Goetsch, Norfolk; Rosemary Gubbels, Plainview; Andrés Hughes, Norfolk; Kala Rast, Newman Grove; Wanda Retzlaff, Plainview; Sue Sieler, Norfolk; and Amanda Smith, Norfolk.

Horn: Alexa Dougherty, O’Neill; Dr. Bryon Hirschman, Norfolk; Pat Leavell, Norfolk; and Zia Moore, Oakdale.

Bass Clarinet: Cecelia Ponce, Hartington.

Oboe: Brooke Painter, Norfolk; and Ashley Pedersen, Pierce.

Tuba: Seth Rivest, Battle Creek; and Corbin Dean, O’Neill.

The concert is free and open to the public.