Skip to main content

College News

ACCT honors Anderson and Reikofski

ACCT honors Anderson and Reikofski

WASHINGTON D.C. – A member of the board of governors and a staff member of Northeast Community College have earned national recognition for their work in higher education.

Steve Anderson, of Concord, a member of the Northeast Board of Governors, is one of five people to be named a finalist for the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) 2018 M. Dale Ensign Trustee Leadership Award. Anderson, the Western Region finalist, will contend with four other trustees from community colleges in California, Florida, Illinois, and New York for the national honor this fall.

Anderson was initially appointed to a District 3 position on the Northeast Community College Board of Governors in April 1997 and was formally elected to the board in 1998. He was reelected to the seat in 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014. District 3 includes Dixon and Dakota counties in their entirety and a portion of Cedar County.

In his time on the Northeast board, Anderson served as chairperson in 2004 and 2012, vice chair in 2003 and 2011 and secretary in 2002, 2010, and 2017. During his tenure, he has also served as chairperson of several board committees; most recently as chair of the Finance Committee in 2017.

“Steve has dedicated 20-years of outstanding service to the Northeast Community College Board of Governors,” said Dr. Michael Chipps, college president. “He brings superb knowledge and wisdom to each board meeting that is based on his working experience in agriculture and in business. He is a dedicated member of the board who consistently supports endeavors to increase the success of students.”

As an engaged board member, Chipps said Anderson has been involved in many changes on Northeast’s main campus and extended campuses since joining the board in 1997.

“Over the years, Steve Anderson has remained mindful of being a good steward of the taxpayers’ dollars and has a passion for the work of community colleges as it trains and educates the future workforce. He is most deserving of this recognition by ACCT.”

In 2017, Anderson was presented with the Nebraska Community College Association’s Governor’s Award. The award is presented annually to one board member from five of the state’s community college areas.

Anderson is the third Northeast board member to earn the award. The late John Davies, of Pilger, was named by ACCT as its Western Region finalist for the M. Dale Ensign Trustee Leadership Award in 2015, while Richard Corkle, of Tilden, received the award 1984, the first year it was presented.

ACCT has also recognized Diane Reikofski, board recording secretary and executive assistant to the College president, with its Professional Board Staff Member Award. Reikofski, the Western Region finalist, will contend with four other executive/administrative assistants from community colleges in Arkansas, California, Missouri, and New York for the national honor this fall.

Chipps said Reikofski has been a “guiding, yet gentle force” in her professional service to the College board of governors and his office in her over twenty years at Northeast.

He said, “Diane is not only meticulous with preparing the work that takes place at each board meeting, she goes about it diligently, quietly, and humbly. She understands the importance of professional development and seeks out new avenues of learning, especially technology solutions, to ensure that the college, the board and president’s operations run efficiently.”

In addition, Chipps said Reikofski is a rich source of knowledge and history of the institution and is often called upon by those both internally and externally.

“Diane serves as a new mentor to new employees, a friend to others, and is depended upon and respected by students. Her values reflect that of a highly motivated, positive-thinking professional that is exhibited in her everyday life, and by someone who lives by the golden rule in how she treats others.”

“Community colleges are one of our country’s national treasures, offering affordable, high-quality higher education for all American people,” said ACCT Chair and Edmonds Community College (WA) Trustee Emily Kim. “Regional ACCT awardees represent the most outstanding people and programs from throughout the United States.”

“Recognizing the outstanding leaders behind community college is one of the most exciting parts of our year,” said ACCT President and CEO J. Noah Brown. “The 2018 awardees reflect the extraordinary commitments and accomplishments of the people who dedicate their lives to helping students.”

ACCT’s Western Region covers 10 states and five Canadian provinces and territories. Geographically, it is the largest of ACCT’s five regions across North America.

As regional level honorees, Anderson and Reikofski will now contend for the national-level title in their respective categories. One outstanding award recipient in each category will be announced during the Annual ACCT Awards Gala in New York City in October, in conjunction with the 49th Annual ACCT Leadership Congress. 

This is the second consecutive year a Northeast Community College representative has been recognized by the Association of Community College Trustees. In 2017, ACCT named Chipps as its Western Region Finalist for its Chief Executive Officer award.

The Association of Community College Trustees is a non-profit educational organization of governing boards, representing more than 6,500 elected and appointed trustees who govern over 1,200 community, technical, and junior colleges in the United States and beyond.