Skip to main content

College News

Winter Concert is Sunday, Feb. 11

Winter Concert is Sunday, Feb. 11

NORFOLK – The Northeast Community College music department will present its Winter Concert on Sunday, February 11, at 2 p.m. in the Lifelong Learning Center in Norfolk.

Under the direction of Dr. Linda Boullion, the Northeast Concert Choir will perform.

Vocal selections at the concert will include “Go into All the World," by Sally Albrecht; "The Silence Speaks," by Vicki T. Courtney; “Riversong,” by Roger Emerson; "Homeward Bound," arranaged by Mark Wilberg; "Come to Me, O My Love," by Allan Robert Petker; and "May the Road Rise Up," arranged by Jay Rouse.

Margaret Schultz is accompanist for the concert choir.

The Northeast College/Community Concert Band, under the direction of Kevin McLouth, music instructor/director of instrumental activities, will also perform. The concert band will entertain with "Creole Belles," by Lampe; "American Folk Rhapsody #3," by Clare Grundman; and "Chorale and Shaker Dance," by Zdechlick.

Members of the Concert Choir include

Soprano: Rachel Biehl, Lexington; Erika Burritt, Osceola; Kaylee Carlson, Ithaca; Morgan Kavulak, Bee; Brittany Merry, Osceola; Sydnie Niemann, Wayne; Cecelia Ponce, Hartington; and Kala Rast, Newman Grove.

Alto:Emma Meisenheimer, Hartington; Madison Morten, Hartington; Katherine Perrigan, Pierce; Cassidy Steskal, Clearwater; Tory Tammen, Crofton; and Catherine Carey, Norfolk.

Bass:Joe Davis, Norman, OK; Caleb Franzen, Columbus; Alex Retzlaff, Pierce; and Sheldon Wattier, Norfolk.

Tenor:Ryan Dusel, Tilden; and Justin Fentress, Oakland.

Members of the Concert band include

Flutes: Carrie Jensen, Norfolk; Annika Johansen, Norfolk; Virginia Maas, Hoskins; Linda Steele, Norfolk; and Marie Scheer, Madison.

Clarinets: Karen Goetsch, Norfolk; Michelle Krula, Rogers; Kala Rast, Newman Grove; Wanda Retzlaff, Plainview; and Sue Sieler, Norfolk.

Bass Clarinet: Cecelia Ponce, Hartington; and Jamie Stange, Norfolk.

Oboe: Brooke Painter, Norfolk.

Trumpets: Shelbi Fergerson, Elmwood; Nick Gubbels, Randolph; Sarah Harrod, Norfolk; Melora Hirschman, Norfolk; Lynn Matthies, Norfolk; and Les Swanson, Norfolk.

Horns: Bryan Hirschman, Norfolk; Pat Leavell, Norfolk; and Zia Moore, Neligh.

Trombones: Randy Neuharth, Norfolk; Jacob Mann, Winside; Zach Morris, Winside; Josh Fulton, Norfolk; Jerimy Placke, Palmer; and Zac Snyder, Fairbury.

Baritones: Corbin Dean, O’Neill; Ken Hamsa, Norfolk; and Blake Heithoff, Neligh.

Tuba: Seth Rivest, Battle Creek.

Alto Sax: Judene Abels, Norfolk; Nathan Bilyeau, Battle Creek; Rhyan Kotrous, Verdigre; Britanny McConnel, Neligh; and Daniel Weitzmann, Norfolk.

Baritone Saxophone: Holden Vavricek, Rising City.

Tenor Sax: Ryan Colsden, Stanton; Josh Hughes, Norfolk; and Alex Pulscher, Alcester, SD.

Percussion: Ben Viergutz, Norfolk; Connor Lemke-Elznic, Winside; Madisen Randa, Verdigre; and
Paul Muncy, Norfolk.

The concert is free and open to the public.