Skip to main content

Recommended Websites

Below is a listing of librarian/instructor evaluated web sites in major areas of study.

Administrative Assistant

Microsoft Office Online http://office.microsoft.com/home/default.aspx
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation http://www.grammarbook.com
 

Agricultural Studies

State of Nebraska –
Contains a link to information on agriculture in Nebraska
http://www.nebraska.gov
USDA –
United States Department of Agriculture
http://www.usda.gov
National Agricultural Statistics Service http://www.nass.usda.gov
National Agricultural Library http://www.nal.usda.gov
Nebraska Department of Natural Resources https://dnr.nebraska.gov/
UNL School of Natural Resources http://snr.unl.edu
 

Animal Sciences/Vet. Tech.

The Merck Veterinary Manual http://www.merckmanuals.com/vet/index.html
AVMA – The American Veterinary Medical Association http://www.avma.org
FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine https://www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/default.htm
National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America https://www.navta.net/
Veterinary Professionals http://www.vetfolio.com
 

Art

The Art History Research Center http://art-history.concordia.ca/
The Getty Center http://www.getty.edu/art/
Metropolitan Museum of Art http://www.metmuseum.org
Museum of Contemporary Art http://www.mcachicago.org
Museum of Modern Art (NYC) http://www.moma.org
National Gallery of Art http://www.nga.gov
National Portrait Gallery http://www.npg.si.edu
Smart History https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/art-history
Smithsonian https://www.si.edu/explore/art
Web Gallery of Art http://www.wga.hu
 

Audio Recording/Broadcasting

Federal Communications Commission http://www.fcc.gov
National Association of Broadcasters http://www.nab.org
Nebraska Broadcasters Association http://www.ne-ba.org
 

Automotive

ALLDATA –
Automotive Diagnostic and Research Information Database (password required)
http://library.alldatapro.com
 

Business

GlobalEdge:
International Business Resources
http://globaledge.msu.edu/
The Wall Street Journal Interactive Edition http://online.wsj.com/public/us
U.S. Business Advisor https://www.usa.gov/business?source=busa
World Fact Book
(U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
Business Week Magazine
http://www.businessweek.com
U.S. Department of Labor http://www.dol.gov
CEO Express http://www.ceoexpress.com
Securities and Exchange Commission http://www.sec.gov
 

Construction Trades

Energy Star Programs http://www.energystar.gov
Environmental Building News http://www.ebuild.com
Free Green http://www.freegreen.com
State of Nebraska –
Links to information on licensing in the state of Nebraska.
http://www.nebraska.gov
The Lighting Research Center http://www.lrc.rpi.edu/
 

Criminal Justice

Officer.com http://officer.com
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service http://ncjrs.gov/
State of Nebraska http://www.nebraska.gov
 

Early Childhood Education

A to Z Kids Stuff http://www.atozkidsstuff.com/
Art Through Creative Recycling http://www.kid-at-art.com
Baby Center http://www.babycenter.com
Babysitting http://careerservices.illinois.edu/competencies/babysitting/
Preschool http://www.preschoolrainbow.org/
Certificate Creator http://www.CertificateCreator.com
ChildFun Family Website http://childfun.com/
Children’s Television Workshop (Sesame Street) http://ctw.org
Crafts for Kids http://www.enchantedlearning.com/crafts
Education Child Development http://www.education.com
Everything Preschool http://www.everythingpreschool.com/
Family Fun http://www.parents.com/familyfun-magazine/
Mother Goose Pages http://www-personal.umich.edu/~pfa/dreamhouse/nursery/rhymesABC.html
Picture Dictionary & Activities http://www.EnchantedLearning.com/Dictionary.html
Preschool Education http://www.preschooleducation.com/
Preschool Express http://preschoolexpress.com/
Preschool Printables http://www.preschoolprintables.com/
Science for Families http://www.eduplace.com/parents/science.jsp
Switcheroo Zoo https://switchzoo.com/
Teacher-created materials http://www.teachercreated.com/free/
 

Education

National Geographic’s Education Pages http://www.nationalgeographic.org/education/
Schmoop https://www.shmoop.com/
State of Nebraska - Links to information on education in the state of Nebraska http://www.nebraska.gov
U.S. Department of Education http://www.ed.gov/
Mailbox Magazine http://www.themailbox.com
 

Environment

US Environment Protection Agency http://www.epa.gov
Earth 911 http://www.earth911.org
Encyclopedia of Earth http://www.eoearth.org
American Wind Energy Association http://www.awea.org/
Renewable Fuels Association http://www.ethanolrfa.org/
 

Government and Political Science

FirstGov: Your first click to the U.S. Government http://www.firstgov.gov
National Journal http://nationaljournal.com/
State of Nebraska http://www.nebraska.gov
   
 

Health and Physical Education

AAHPERD –
American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
http://www.shapeamerica.org/
MedLine Plus http://medlineplus.gov/
PubMed http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed
MedLine http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html
 

History and Culture

History Matters http://historymatters.gmu.edu/browse/wwwhistory
Smithsonian https://www.si.edu/explore/history
 

Information Technology/Computers

NIST –
National Institute of Standards of Technology
http://www.nist.gov/
 

Languages

Dictionary of Spanish http://www.spanishdict.com
Word Reference.com http://www.wordreference.com
 

Literature

The Academy of American Poets http://www.poets.org
A Celebration of Women Writers http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/
The Literature Network http://www.online-literature.com
 

Medicine/Nursing

Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity http://www.ahdionline.org
ChemID Plus https://chem.nlm.nih.gov/chemidplus/
Genetics https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/
Human Anatomy Online http://www.innerbody.com/
HyperDoc: U.S. National Library of Medicine http://www.nlm.nih.gov
Nebraska Center of Nursing – for LPN and ADN http://www.center4nursing.com
Portal to Health Sites http://www.health.gov
Physicians' Desk Reference http://www.pdr.net
State of Nebraska –
Links to information on licensing in the state of Nebraska.
http://www.nebraska.gov
US National Library of Medicine and National Institute of Health http://www.pubmed.gov
PubMed http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed
MedLine http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html
 

Medicine/Physical Therapy

Human Anatomy Online http://www.innerbody.com/
State of Nebraska –
Links to information on licensing in the state of Nebraska
http://www.nebraska.gov
The National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project http://www.nlm.nih.gov/research/visible/visible_human.html
PubMed http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed
MedLine http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html
American Physical Therapy Association http://www.apta.org
 

Music

Billboard Online http://www.billboard.com
Musictheory.net https://www.musictheory.net/
 

Psychology

American Psychological Association http://www.apa.org
 

Sciences/General

Animal Diversity Web http://animaldiversity.org/
NIST Chemistry Web Book http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
WebElements http://www.webelements.com/
HyperPhysics http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hphys.html
Science http://www.science.gov
 

Truck Driving

American Trucking Associations http://www.truckline.com
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov